A rubber

17 Jan

Being an exchange student or in other words, being an Ambassador, I never get sick of hearing that, you have to be prepared to be stuck in long, god awful conversations with people about all types of things; your country, politics,religion, your favorite color, all kinds of jazz, and I was completely prepared for that. What I didn’t see coming was Ghanaian’s total lack of something very important. You know that little voice in your head that tells you to shut up because you see the look on the person’s face whom you’re talking to? In America I know a few people who also lack this necessity but I feel  I’m pretty good at wiggling my way out of those conversations. But Ghanaians, Ghanaians are, as I have mentioned several times before, extremely persistent! Making it nearly impossible to to get out of a particularly awkward conversation, (a one sided conversation), with your dad about how everyone in your country is murders who are racist  against black people and insists that everyone in your country believes that all Africans are monkeys who live on trees! Then you find yourself in an even more awkward position where you think to yourself, it’s not trees, it’s a mud hut where they only eat after hunting a cheetah down in the African jungle with a sharp sphere, duh. Then at the thought you laugh silently to yourself and then your dad thinks your laughing at what he was saying so then he just goes off in a rant for another solid two hours where you don’t think about anything other than the fact that you’re missing Oprah. How to get out of these sticky situations, THAT’S what they should be teaching us at orientation. But I’ve become particularly skilled at this, the key is nodding your head every so often while saying “yeah” and “uh-huh” with a look of deep concern and understanding. As long as you do that you can completely check out of the conversation, though I would suggest checking back in every so often so you’re not agreeing that everyone in America is in on a giant plan with Obama to take over the world. 
It doesn’t just work on ranting fathers either, it also works on die hard Christians who’s last wish is to convert you and the old guy down the street who keeps asking  for your number. 

Simple, yet affective.

Now I’m sure you’re feeling cheating from my last blog about my trip to Busua so I’ll enlighten you now. Well everything I had brought in my backpack had been completely soaked in salt water and was grainy with sad and I needed a place to put my clean clothes where they wouldn’t get all dirty. So I went down to ask an employee for a rubber. Now okay, I thought I was being all hip and trendy using their British lingo, you know? Really like a Ghanaian, but now I’m just confused. I thought the British used the word “rubber”  referring to a plastic bag. But apparently I was wrong because all I got was bewildered looks and one of the Obrunis actually looked at me with raised eyebrows and said “A-a rubber?” confusion quickly followed by understanding set in and I explained that I needed a plastic bag. To make a long story short, I left feeling extremely stupid and empty handed.

One of the nights someone pointed out that there was a (live) cockroach in my hair and then a few hours later, Avery spit, with a mouthful of toothpaste, in my hair…mmm it really did put the cherry on top of a pretty good day.

Oh, and I ripped my pants (my newly Ghanaian made pants).

I wonder if this is all sounding like a giant complaint rather than a reflection of my trip? Well it isn’t suppose to, I truly did have a great time despite my luck. But you know when I get home I’ll be able to give really good detailed stories with hand gestures, facial expression, the whole nine yards. Until then, this will have to suffice. 
 

2 Responses to “A rubber”

  1. Grammie January 17, 2012 at 7:14 pm #

    Oh how you entertain me with your comments….I am still laughing and it is NOT at your misfortune but at the way you state everything. So sorry about the long and boring conversations with your host father but you are a pro at making one think you are paying total attention when you are infact thinking of something else (but you never made me feel that you did not enjoy our long converstations) mawahhh
    Sorry to hear that you ripped your pants, hope they can be mended.
    Keep the blog going love to read ANYTHING that you have to say, yes Nana and I do read your blog but you should not worry about saying other things on your blog your too far away for either of us to bother you, to much any way.

  2. Grammie January 17, 2012 at 7:16 pm #

    P.S.
    I am so happy the “A Rubber” was a plastic bag…..

Leave a Reply

