Six months left!

10 Jan

Isn’t wired to think that I’ve been gone for four months? Because when I think back it doesn’t feel like any time has past at all, but at the same time it feels like an eternity! I look back on pictures I took my first week and it’s strange to think how much has happened, how much I’ve changed. I think I’ve matured, but I’m sure others would beg to differ… And now I have another six months ahead of me, half a year, so much can happen in that time period. Now don’t get me wrong, I’m not like a whole new person who’s found them-self. But it’s just interesting. 

Anyway, that was a little deep for the first paragraph. Well Kali, who was the only one who replied to my request of blog topics, said anything and everything, just take note that after four months of living somewhere you’ve seen and done practically everything and quickly run out of topics to talk about BUT I shall still tell you about a marvelous trip I just took to Busua which is near (or inside, I’m not really sure) Takoradi which is to the West of Accra and there are thee most beautiful beaches there I’ve ever seen! National Geographic status, once again, pictures when I return, it takes too long to upload one picture, plus i haven’t taken many because it makes me feel like a stupid tourist and I’d rather just be in the moment, you know? Anyway Drew, Avery, Ida, Balthazar, Kyla, Logan and I all went and spent three days basically just being beach bums and it was so nice! It may sound kind of lame but after spending 4 months in Accra (smaller, dirtier NY) It was exactly what I wanted. 

My family life is…a train wreck!  In the great words of Daisy, my family is mostly comprised of douchebags (I hope they never read this)! My mom use to be great; funny, talkative, basically me but Ghanaian, now she’s horrible and only talks to me when she wants to insult me. My dad just sits in his room and supposedly is working, I wouldn’t know seeing as I’ve never been aloud to see his room, but he’s just blah. And all of my siblings now treat me the same, they all simply ignore me. For once in my life I spend a majority of my days in silence…can you even imagine?    Somehow it’s nice, self reflection all that jazz but talking is like breathing for me. I can go without it for a few seconds, even a minute if I really concentrate, when I sleep it slows down, but my body still needs it! But mostly I only speak when spoken to (“good morning” “good evening” “thank you” and of course when I sing in the shower). I’ve never noticed how loud silence is before it just screams in my ear, it’s eating away at me, I don’t know how much longer I’ll be able to handle it. So I’ve asked AFS Ghana to get me a new family…still nothing has happened but i’m trying to be patient. Now don’t freak out, (yes I’m talking to you mom) I can handle it, you don’t need to lose it and start calling up AFS USA. I thought I could handle them, I tried to manage-their unmanageable!!! Cross your fingers for a new, wonderful family! 

Well I haven’t got much else to say except if you want some good laughs and detailed descriptions about Ghana go to my friend Avery’s blog. He has a modem so he blogs er’ day plus he has pictures: averysegal.com but don’t be creepy on his blog *cough* Mom! (:

I have some really great things I want to blog about but my Grammies and Nana read this…and AFS is always watching. So we’ll save the really juicy stuff until the end of my year (:

One Response to “Six months left!”

  1. Kali S. January 17, 2012 at 11:01 pm #

    I’m so excited for your storytelling! I hope you get a more fitting family, girl. Oh, I’ve also had two dreams about you lately.

    Can’t wait to read more!

Leave a Reply

