T.I.G. (This Is Ghana) My Not So Organized Thoughts….

19 Nov

The smell of the sewage, goat poop (and yes, probably some human poop), plantain, and the sweaty guy next to you completely swallow you whole. Not to mention the sound of the mate (money collector on the tro) yelling “CIRCLE, CIRCLE!”, the fan ice seller honking his horn, and practically everyone around you either asking you how you are or telling you you’re beautiful in Twi, Gha,Hausa or SOME TYPE of foreign language.There’s so much happening all of the time your senses hardly have time to embrace it all.
And even though all of those things probably don’t sound too appealing, it’s what I like most about Accra.

Now to switch topics (I warned you it’s not an organized blog, that would take time and effort, two things I’m clearly not willing to give up). Now, 
my trip (or as the Ghanaians say “excursion”) to the Northern region of Ghana was absolutely fan-friggin’-tastic!!! Roughly 20 hours in a bus with 4 people from the U.S.A., 2 Canadians, 1 Danish, 1 Frenchman, 1 German, 1 South American, 5 Belgium Flanders, and 4 Ghanaians and you know you’ve got a party bus. OR a bus filled with white tourists snapping pictures of everything (okay, except for the 4 Ghanaians). Either way it was awesome! We went to Kintampo Falls (and played in an amazing waterfall), Mole National Park and didn’t see any elephants, a kente weaving place (kente is a type of fabric made in Ghana), markets, AND, brace yourself…

Long pause for dramatic affect. 

Huts. 
Yes. You did read that correctly, huts. We were driving in a little town like area, then we were in the middle of nowhere, then lookout, huts.
MADE OUT OF MUD!
 Like National Geographic legit. It was just cool and we actually got to walk around inside of them and during my christmas break I’m planning on going out to a rural area with someone, probably the Danish, and just live in the hut and pretend that I’m a native Ghanaian for like a week. 
NBD.
I’ll upload pictures when the Internet isn’t complete crap and doesn’t take an hour and a half to upload one picture. Basically I had an amazing time and going home was…depressing. But as my mom always  says “you can make or break your own fun” so I’m I’ve been doing my best to keep the good times rolling by being positive and it’s kind of working. I must say distraction is key. I’ve been studying for my S.A.T. and just been reading constantly, I’m kind of a nerd here in Ghana. I mean if there was a library at my school I’d probably be in there all of the time.

Okay enough of this now I’m just going to complain: the amount of sweat I give off in one day could seriously be a world record! It’s just not natural-I’ll be doing the dishes and it’s literally dripping off me; I’ll be sleeping and wake up to find sweat bubbles covering my face, it’s just sick! It’s in these moments of sweaty weakness that I find myself day dreaming about snow, awe snow. But thanks to my handy dandy handkerchief I can at least try and control it, key word here is try. 

Okay next blog it will actually have a purpose.

4 Responses to “T.I.G. (This Is Ghana) My Not So Organized Thoughts….”

  1. Kali S. November 22, 2011 at 11:03 pm #

    I love how you love it there! I miss you, girl. I also love how you give details, even about your sweat. ;}
    -Kali

  2. Nicole November 28, 2011 at 3:41 am #

    So I just read all your blogs. I freaking love them! I laughed through almost all of them. I miss you so so so much!!! I wish I was there with you. 🙂 Hahaha I hope you are having a fantastic time in Ghana. And I promise you, I will be there when you get back since i wasnt there when you left. 🙂 Amd your nickname is the cutest thing ever.:)

  3. Grammie J December 3, 2011 at 5:22 pm #

    I feel almost as if I can smell, feel, taste and hear what you are writing about. You do such a great job of describing things. You come by the “sweat” honestly be greatful for it….that is one of the many thing that make you YOU! I miss you so much and pray that you continue to be happy and safe.

    I love you tons and tons

    Grammie

  4. Grammie December 24, 2011 at 7:26 pm #

    Hey you over a month since your last blog, really would love to hear from you. Miss you so much. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.

    Love you MORE

    Grammie

Leave a Reply

