Ghana!

16 Apr

The title says it all!

That’s right I am a YES Abroad finalist and I couldn’t be happier! I will spending NINE MONTHS in Ghana, (Not exactly sure what city yet), and it is going to be absolutely insane! That makes me an ambassador, (doesn’t that sound nice rolling off the tongue)!  I can hardly believe it!

When I got my email saying I was accepted to study abroad in Ghana for a year, it was so unreal. It wasn’t until just yesterday,  as I was reading other blogs from fellow YES Abroad- Ghana finalists, that it all finally sunk in. The only thing I could think to myself is; That totally happened!

I’m going to Ghana.

Along with the excitement, came sorrow. I will be leaving behind;  friends, family, and the luxuries of living in the U.S. But I will (hopefully) find; indepence, new language skills, and a cultural understanding that I will be able to take with me for the rest of my life. So even though it will be so hard, it will be the BEST experience ever!!

I just can’t wait to tell you everything that happens along my nine month journey!

4 Responses to “Ghana!”

  1. Jai April 17, 2011 at 6:54 pm #

    So I will definitely be stalking your blog to see what’s Ghana like! Glad someone else from group 4 will be representing abroad! See you in DC (:

    • thattotallyhappens April 17, 2011 at 10:51 pm #

      I know I’m so glad group there is more than one group four member, (REPRESENT)!
      Do you know if any other people in our group got the scholarship?

      • Jai April 17, 2011 at 11:18 pm #

        I think we’re the only two :/
        Syahirah & Cody didn’t get it :((( Liana is an alternate and I can’t remember the last person in our group…?

  2. thattotallyhappens April 21, 2011 at 3:59 pm #

    Really? I really thought Cody had it:( The last person. . . I can’t remember her name but she was the really religous, quiet one!

Leave a Reply

